A Huge Challenge

I have just entered the Adidas 5K Women’s Challenge, a 5K run round Hyde Park on 7 September 2008.  I am doing this to raise money for REFUGE a national charity for women and children experiencing domestic violence.  This is a charity that is close to my heart and I am hoping to raise £250.

This is a huge personal challenge for me.  I am unfit and overweight and just started training yesterday.  My first training session was a run (well a bit of running and a lot of walking) round the park yesterday.  My breathing was so bad that I frightened a lady out walking her dog!  Today was slightly better with almost as much running as walking.  I have just three and a half months to become fit enough to run 5K.  

I would really appreciate your support – you can sponsor me at www.justgiving.com/annieoneill or by pressing the button.

2 June.  A quick update.    I’m obviously not such a worry to the dog walkers after 2 weeks of training – they now greet me with ‘morning’ instead of ‘are you alright?’!  While still unable to run the whole way round the park I am now managing to run much more than I walk so I can see progress and as an added bonus I have lost 4 pounds in weight.

21 August.  Further update.  I have not been able to run for the past month because an old ankle injury has resulted in a painful and swollen ankle even when walking.  I have had several Bowen treatments and I went for my first run this morning – so far, so good.  I am determined to complete the course, even if I have to run some and walk some.

7 September.  I did it!!  OK, I didn’t run the whole course but I did complete it in 48 minutes and I am very proud of myself.  It was a great atmosphere and I raised almost £200 for REFUGE.  If you meant to sponsor me and forgot, it’s not too late – you still can.  The Just Giving page is open for another couple of months.

Leave a comment

Filed under Post Divorce

Leave a Reply

