Guest Post – Beautiful Moments Are To Be Found Much Closer To Home Than You Realise!

By Garth Delikan, The Lifestyle Guy

I just had my 18 year old son stay with me for the last four days and I have to say I had the absolute best time for ages!

When you’ve been through a divorce or had a painful ending to a long standing relationship, in many cases it’s difficult to keep that close bond with your children because you don’t always feel as though you’re there 24/27 as it was in my case.

I also have a 17 year old daughter who I’m also extremely close to so in my case it was a bit of a double whammy!

But the lesson that I’ve learned over the years is that it’s not necessarily the “amount” of time that you spend with your loved ones but more to do with the “quality”.

Spending precious quality time with your kid’s is where the magic happens!

Their love or loyalty can’t be bought or beguiled out of them, children are the purest and most honest judges on God’s earth and if you “invest” your love in your children in comes back in so many ways it’s beautiful.

At 18 years old my son has always followed me as an example especially in the areas of kickboxing and physical training but it’s only just been recently that he’s decided that he really wants to get into shape and start looking after himself, so these last days were awesome in the fact that we spent the entire time working out together and it was so joyous to have him there and work with him as a young adult, watching him getting stronger and working out passionately with his Dad!

We had some great conversations about bodybuilders old and new and had great fun looking through my old exercise magazines and chilling and watching DVD’s together.

It’s the same with my daughter with whom I’ve been going swimming twice a week this last three months.

It’s just absolute quality of time and something that you have to treasure, special moments that just fill your life with magic!

My daughter is also coming to stay later this week for a few days and our relationship is completely different again but nonetheless special and we have a special and close bond between us as well.

She not one to sit and watch a DVD with me but will “break off” from her Face Book or My Space accounts for a brief chat or help me prepare a meal.

Again, it’s not the amount of time we spend together but the magic moments of the time we spend together and I just love having her “physical” presence here as well, just knowing she’s here fills me up with a nice warm feeling.

She hates conventional exercise but loves swimming, which is great, and we also spend time going for walks around the lakes and taking photographs and then downloading them to the computer and comparing the most “artful” ones. Which she invariably wins!

There’s so much talked about Lifestyle and Lifestyle quality but in reality the joys of life are to be found in the special magic moments that most people take for granted and in the company of those dearest and dearest to you.

3 Comments

Filed under Children and divorce, Communication, Post Divorce, Relationships

3 responses to “Guest Post – Beautiful Moments Are To Be Found Much Closer To Home Than You Realise!

  1. This was a really great read, I am very glad I came across your site.

  2. What a wonderful post! More often that not, one finds herself at a loss right after divorce, but in order to get your old self back, you have to experience the whole spectrum of emotions from anger to depression. Once you go through these emotions, try to piece your life back together by spending time with your children. Remember, you have gone through the same experience and journey with them. 🙂

  3. You have provided an great content and a great post on web.

    Thanks

Leave a Reply

